• Thought Jumble
  • Posts
  • Today I am Sharing Something Cool I Made In Notion! 🎵

Today I am Sharing Something Cool I Made In Notion! 🎵

music ranking system upgrades!

The other day one of my close friends told me they were trying to rate every Taylor Swift song in excel and from that get an average rating for each album.

My first reaction was… “omg that is so COOL YESSS!!!!” and then once the nerd in me calmed down 🤓 I thought “wait wait wait… Notion exists!”

So I created a simple little database for doing just that, but inside Notion for ease of use and aesthetics and I thought I would share it with the world because I do think it’s pretty cool!

The Way It Works! ⚙️

By using sub tasks and parent tasks I was able to keep this whole thing super simple!

Every album is a parent task and every song is a sub task!

Everything is rated out of 10 in a property titled “Rating” and then there is a “Final Rating” formula which does all the magic!

It tests to see if there are no sub tasks in the entry and if there are parent tasks! This would mean that the album entry has songs listed as sub tasks that we want to average!

When this happens it takes the average of all these song ratings inside the album and rounds it properly and displays that as the album rating!

Now let’s say you don’t want to list all the songs for an album and you would prefer to just rate it yourself… well if the “Rating” property has a value inside it for the album entry it will display that instead!

This gives you flexibility and lowers the friction of rating your content!

Music Ranking System 🎵

I have mentioned this a good bit now but in case you didn’t know I have been rating and ranking all my albums I listen to inside Notion for years now! I love it so much!

It clears my mind so that I always have options of going back and listening to my old top tracks or seeing what interested me in years prior!

Very soon I will be updating my current Music Ranking System template so stay tuned! 👀

If you want to try out what I have been using now to rank and rate my content you can check it out for free here! ⬇️

Inspiration! ✨

Recently I released a template for tracking your top movies and TV shows which is where I got this idea originally!

It uses the same idea as this database but instead of albums and songs it’s with TV shows and seasons!

I really enjoy the process of logging my favorite content I consume and if you do too you can check out my latest template for free here! ⬇️

❤️ Made with Love by Dave 🐧 | Buy Me A Coffee ☕ | Bento! |